Pastel Hightlighters: K-beauty brands

Etude House Wonder Fun Park Candy highlighter vs Tonymoly Luminous Rainbow highlighter . How does each product stack up? Which one is worth the money?

Hello lovelies~ It’s Ren here with my first k-beauty post about highlighters! Recently pastel highlighters have been EVERYWHERE online. I love love love makeup, but I’m generally pretty toned down. So while I had used highlighters before, and therefore knew the basics, I figured it would be better to wait until Korean brands caught on before I tried to snag one of the highlighters (although that Kat Von D pallet is VERY tempting).

So I was pretty excited when Etude dropped a pastel line over winter break. These line is the Wonder Fun Park line, and it has a cute carnival theme to it. I ended up buying two things from the line on a whim, the Wonder Fun Park Candy Highlighter (about $16 usd when I purchased it), and the Wonder Fun Park Glitter Pigment in pink (around $10 usd). I also ended up purchasing the Luminous Rainbow highlighter ($20 usd) from Tonymoly as it doubles as eyeshadow and blush, according to the lovely sales lady. So how do they measure up against each other? Let’s take a look!

etude 5

Above you can see the differences in the packaging. Etude is more cutesy, which is typical of them, and Tonymoly’s is more sleek and minimal which is a new direction they’ve taken in the past few years with their products. Personally, I prefer the Etude packaging because it’s just really cute and fun, which is a weakness of mine. So packaging wise, I’d give the Etude highlighter  4 out of 5. The Tonymoly one I will give a 3 out of 5 because there isn’t anything really “Wow!” about the packaging, but I do like that it has a button to open rather than having to pry it open.

etude 3

And here you can see what the products look like. The Etude pact is more pastel, and not as visibly glittery. The Tonymoly one is more of a bright rainbow than pastel to me, and is visibly got glitter in it. I won’t give points for this, because it didn’t really effect my feelings towards the product in the end. What it really comes down to is how well each product did what it was supposed to do. Below I have two photos of the products side by side on my arm, with and without flash. (I know, I know, I’m pale af.)

etude 1  etude 2

(With flash, without flash)

As you can see in the above photos, the Etude product doesn’t show up at all. It almost looks like there isn’t any product there at all, but this is after using a clean brush to apply almost 4 layers. And yet, it still looks like nothing is there. The Tonymoly one in contrast is very clearly there in both photos after applying it lightly. So, it’s safe to say that the Tonymoly product is clearly the winner and that the Etude one is pretty much only cute to look at. I was super excited for the Wonder Fun Park line as it had been a little while since Etude had released anything I was interested in. Their winter holiday line “My Little Nut” (Etude pls) was also a bit disappointing, and now I find that I am also disappointed in the WFP line. The eye pigments were worth the money spent, but the highlighter was a dud all around. Don’t waste your money on it, if you’re looking for a cute highlighter from a Korean brand, pick up the Tonymoly one this time. It’s actually worth the price. I have links for all of the products below, although the Tonymoly one is not listed on the US website, so I’ve linked it on amazon. I hope you guys enjoyed this little post, and I hope it was useful for you!

http://www.etudehouse.com/index.php/new/wonder-fun-park-candy-highlighter.html

http://www.etudehouse.com/index.php/new/wonder-fun-park-glitter-pigment.html

https://www.amazon.com/TONYMOLY-Luminous-Goddess-Aurolighter-Highligher/dp/B01N2WRRG9

Leave a Reply

